For this blog post I will discuss the article “Collaborative Writing in Composition Studies,” by Sheryl Fontaine and Susan M. Hunter.

What are the different types of collaboration? What types of collaboration have you done before (for school, work, etc?)

There are many different types of collaboration such as dialogic, scaffolding, and hierarchical. Scaffolding is a project that is done with two partners. They work together and share ideas. I have done this all through out my schooling from elementary, high school and college. Dialogical is group work where each person is responsible for his or her own part. This can be successful with communication. I am currently taking writing for the workplace and the project we are currently one is dialogical. Our topic is Work Life Balance and there are 8 of us and we are all working on different aspects of this topic. This is definitely a collaboration project that I enjoy the least but if the communication is not there, the project can get confusing. Hierarchical collaboration is a type of group work where there is someone in charge and each member has a certain role for the group project. You can see this a lot in education in the older grade levels in high school and college.

All three types of these collaborations are important to do group projects. It is something that I can use in a classroom when I am a teacher and I am using it now in college. 




Leave a Reply.