After reading the article "An Introduction to Qualitative Research" I realize that this is something i've practiced and done before I just never really know it was called this. I learned the proper definitions and I was able to easily understand the list provided. The Qualitative questions answer why? how? and what way? Quantitative research answers how much? how many? how often? to what extent? I was introduced to these questions back in late elementary school. I am very familiar with this type of research. qualitative interviews are informal. It would be an interview that you know the person and feel comfortable with them and it's more like a normal conversation. Whereas qualitative interviews for very formal and professional. Examples would be for researching a new product or discovery or interviewing for a career.


In the article "Situating Narrative Inquiry," I learned that narrative inquiry there are four components to make a narrative. 
1. a change in the relationship between the person conducting the research and the person participating as the subject.
2. a move from the use of number toward the use of words as data.
3. a change from a focus on the general and universal toward the local and specific
4. a widening in acceptance of alternative epistemologies or ways of knowing 


I have used this research in the past for other classes and I think this can be used for our upcoming projects in the class such as our oral history.



Leave a Reply.